What will it be like when he is 12?

25 06 2008

There is this 12 yo girl in my neighborhood who is pretty close to me and will confide in me things that her mum doesn’t even know.  So why is she telling me and not her mum?  Why are both of them having such a hard time getting along with each other?  I know her mum certainly loves her, but unfortunately, she can’t see it.  I also know the girl has needs that are not met by her mum, but, the mum can’t understand those needs.  Today, the girl even told me “Aunty, how I wish you are my mum.”

It really saddens me.  Even at this point when I write, I can feel my heart wrench for both of them.  How sad will the mum be if she hears this, and how deep is the girl’s longing for her mum to understand her.  I really wish to mediate, but I know I have to do so very carefully else it may backfire.

This pair got me thinking about how will it be like when my children are at that age.  Despite all the time, efforts, energy and love poured out upon our children, will they see the love we have for them, or will they think that we don’t understand them and don’t love them?

Wisdom wisdom wisdom…. I need God’s wisdom in this parenting journey.